1st Kirton have 3 sections consisting of both boys and girls which meet at the scout hut on different nights of the week.


Beaver Scouts are the youngest section of the Scouting family, aged 6-8. Their activities are based around making things, outdoor activities, singing, playing games, going out on visits, investigating nature, listening to stories, learning how to be safe and most importantly, making new friends.


Cubs is the second section of the Scouting movement, originally started in 1916 for younger brothers who wanted a ‘look-in’. In nearly a century, the section has constantly evolved and adapted its programme and methods to meet the changing needs of each generation of young people, and these days admits girls and boys aged 8-10½.


Scouts are the third section of the Scouting movement for ages 10½-14. From the first experimental camp for 20 boys in 1907, the movement now has an estimated 28 million members worldwide, and in the UK alone there are over 499,000 boys and girls involved in Scouting. An increase in adult volunteers means that more and more young people are now able to take part in their own big adventure.




All groups get the opportunity to take part in lots of activities such as:

Map Reading

They also earn badges for completing activities.

As well as groups events, the sections joins in with district and county events such as:

Chess Competition
Ten-Pin Bowling
Swimming Gala
Wet Weekend
Sports Day
St Georges Day Parade
Moot Camp